Pew! pew! I have a gun thingy and I’m shooting at the vagina face guy

This post is verbatim a facebook post and thread that I saved on my laptop a long time ago titled “possible blog fodder”.  Given today’s announcement regarding Disney purchasing Lucasfilms and the upcoming Star Wars: Episode 7, I thought tonight would be a good time to break it out.  So, without further ado, a facebook thread about the great divide between the casual Star Wars fan and the hardcore geek.

Also, you should go into this knowing that I personally own 2 lightsabers,  own and have created Star Wars based artwork, have Admiral Ackbar on my blog page, and own all 6 movies and 4 seasons of The Clone Wars on BluRay.  I am a casual fan.  No really.  Talk to a hardcore fan for about 2 minutes and you will agree.

With that out of the way, here’s the post.

Me: I’m still in the debating stage on joining the Star Wars RPG. I sat in for a few the other day and:

(1) as a casual fan of the movies, I felt pretty lost. I don’t know the names of all of the alien races and know zilch about weapons; and

(2) They’re playing Sith and keep talking about “taint” which makes me giggle.

I don’t really think giggling at taints and saying “pew pew I have a gun thingy and I’m shooting the vagina face guy” will have a very positive effect on my geek-fu.

Katie:   ….the little gun things are called blaster pistol, BLASTER PISTOLS!!!! amateur…

Christina:  yeah I’ve not got much more than you on that…and appears I may be playing swtor soon

Lamey: I don’t understand why you guys like to play games that require so much work. I’m exhausted just thinking about you pew pewing at vagina face.

Jason:  I think it would. Hell, I’d laugh my ass off and hand you a beer

Me: Katie, I know blasters and light sabers. I even know many of the varieties of droids and the creatures that they said the names of on the movies (bantha, tauntaun, wompa). I even know that Admiral Ackbar is Mon Calamari, but only because I find it funny. I’m sitting down there and they’re talking about vibrochainsaws and stuff. I was like holy crap, I thought I knew at least as much as the average casual fan but apparently the gulf between casual fan and hardcore geek is large enough to fit the entire fracking universe in.

Katie:  haha that is a totally true statement!

Christina:  For what it’s worth I think you should join in…

I didn’t join.  Clearly I am not the geek one might imagine I am based on my blog and / or the company I keep.  It’s okay though.  I still know all of the spells from the Harry Potter series and I’m not afraid to use them.

1 Comment

Filed under Board gamer lamer

One response to “Pew! pew! I have a gun thingy and I’m shooting at the vagina face guy

  1. That’s okay. I’m playing right now. I’ll play for both of us. The fact that I’m playing it right this minute is storiesbywilliams fault.

Leave a Reply

